Heavy Truck Drivers
Licensing / Certification
In Minnesota, a commercial driver's license is required to operate vehicles that weigh over 26,000 pounds, carry hazardous materials, or carry more than fifteen passengers.
- be at least 21 years old (may be 18 if driving only in Minnesota and not hauling hazardous materials);
- have a valid driver's license;
- provide identification;
- complete and pass exams.
Drivers who transport hazardous materials must also hold a hazardous materials endorsement. Applicants must:
- take and pass a knowledge test;
- complete a security threat assessment application; and
- submit fingerprints.
For more information, contact:
Minnesota Department of Public Safety
444 Cedar Street
St. Paul, Minnesota 55101
Heavy truck drivers must have a commercial driver's license (CDL) for the state in which they live. Requirements vary by state.
Those who transport goods or materials across state lines must have a CDL and meet the following U.S. Department of Transportation qualifications:
- be at least 21 years old;
- pass a vision, hearing, blood pressure, and general health exam every two years;
- not have diabetes or epilepsy;
- not have been convicted of a felony involving use of a motor vehicle, a crime using drugs, or driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol; and
- pass a written exam on trucking safety regulations.
Certifications are examinations that test or enhance your knowledge, experience or skills in an occupation or profession.
There are 1 certifications related to this career.
No State of Minnesota license requirements are found for this career.